圣人路加

圣人路加

 
当前位置: 旅途 >> 圣人路加

圣人路加
我决定从许多人知道的圣人路加开始,因为这好像是考古学者和历史学家入手的地方。而且,差不多四分之一的《新约》都是出自路加之笔(《路加福音》和《使徒行传》),所以,在我看来,这对开始检验整部《新约》的真实性是足够分量了。

约在150年前,欧洲的学者开始厌弃圣人路加的历史记录。这些学者称没有证据证明路加著作中的几个地方和领袖人物的存在,因此,他们拒绝接受他的所有记述。然而,我发现二十世纪的考古发现已经表明路加是一位非常精准的历史学家,而他所著的两部书绝对是权威的历史记录!

一个最伟大的考古学家是威廉•拉姆齐爵士。在19世纪中期他曾在德国著名的历史学院学习,这些学院说《新约》是写于公元前200年中期的宗教专著,而不是关于一世纪的历史文献记录。拉姆齐笃信这一学说,于是他进入考古领域并到小亚细亚专门去寻找批驳路加圣经记录的实际证据。几年的实地考察后,拉姆齐彻底扭转了他对《圣经》和一世纪历史的整个看法。他写到:

    路加是一流的历史学家;不仅他的事实陈述值得信赖,而且他拥有真正的历史感…简言之,这位作家应该列为最伟大的历史学家。1
路加的精准体现在他把主要的历史人物按照正确的时间顺序排列。他还在不同的地理区域使用正确的,而且常常是晦涩的政府名称,其中包括帖撒罗尼迦的地方官、以弗所庙里的看守、居比路的方伯和马耳他岛的“岛长”。在路加宣讲耶稣公开传道时,他提到了“吕撒聂作亚比利尼分封的王”。学者们质疑路加的可信度,因为几个世纪以来人们知道的唯一一个吕撒聂是公元前40-36年间卡尔基斯的一个头领。然而人们发现一篇可以追溯到台比留时代(公元14-37年)的碑文,上面记述着一次献殿,提到名叫吕撒聂的人是“亚比利尼分封的王”( 亚比利尼靠近大马色)。这正和路加的叙述吻合,也震惊了当时自由的学术界。2

在《使徒行传》中,保罗被带到亚该亚的方伯迦流面前。考古学也再次证实了这个叙述。在德尔福,人们发现了克劳迪乌斯皇帝的碑文,上面写着“路求朱尼奥迦流,我的朋友,亚该亚的方伯…”历史学家把碑文的年代确定在公元51年,这和保罗公元51年在那里的时间一致。3

《使徒行传》后面记述了保罗的帮手以拉都被派到哥林多管银库。1928年,考古学家发掘了一个哥林多的剧院,找到一块碑文,上写“以拉都回来做市政官自己出钱铺路。”这段路是在公元50年铺的,而“市政官”指的就是管银库的官名。4

在另一段中,路加称部百流,即马耳他岛的首领,为“岛主”。学者们质疑过这个奇怪的称呼,认为它不是史实。根据最近这个岛上发现的碑文,部百流确实被称为“岛主”。5

在其它地方,路加用了希腊语的“politarchs”(“城市的统治者”)来指帖撒罗尼迦的地方官。尽管听起来没什么,可是这也是几个世纪中一直用于攻击路加的可信度的,因为没有其它希腊文献这样称呼其头领。然而,现在已经发现大约20种碑文上有“地方官”(“politarch”)这个称呼,其中五件还特别指帖撒罗尼迦的古代首领。6

最后再举一个例子:圣人路加把弗吕家的一个城市叫做以哥念。谁会在意呢!不过,这也是几个世纪来否定路加的可信度的一个主要方面。学者们不惜重读西塞罗这样的历史学家的著述,称以哥念在吕高尼而不是弗吕家。因此,学者们说整部《使徒行传》都不可靠。你猜怎样?1910年,正当拉姆齐在寻找支持这种长期的说法,反驳路加的证据时,他挖出一块石碑,上面说以哥念确实是弗吕家的一个城市。7 许多1910年以来的考古发现都证实了路加是正确的!

评论关于圣人路加的研究和文字时,著名历史学家A.N.宣威•怀特说到: 总之,路加提到32个国家、54个城市还有9座岛屿,没有差错。8

《使徒行传》的历史真实性让人赞叹…任何想要否定它的基本史实的做法现在看起来都是荒唐的。9

现在继续读!

1 威廉•拉姆齐爵士,《近期发现对于<新约>可信度的意义》 ,霍德和斯托顿,1915.
2 派特•组克兰,《考古与<旧约>》, 2000年4月, http://www.probe.org/docs/arch-nt.html. Scripture citation: Luke 3:1.
3 同上。经文引述,《使徒行传》18:12-17.
4 同上。经文引述,《使徒行传》 19:22.
5 同上。经文引述,《使徒行传》 28:7.
6 埃里克•里昂,《路加和地方官一词》, 护教学出版社, 2002, http://www.apologeticspress.org/rr/rr2002/res0204b.htm. 经文引述,《使徒行传》 17:6.
7 《<使徒行传>,<新约介绍>》,蓝信圣经学院,. 2002-04. http://www.blueletterbible.org/study/intros/acts.html. 经文引述,《使徒行传》 14:6.
8 诺曼•盖斯勒, 贝克百科全书基督教护教学,贝克书社,1999年,47.
9 A.N.宣威•怀特,《<新约>中的罗马社会和罗马法律》,牛津大学出版部印刷所, 1963年, 189.


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


圣经是真实的吗?

古代以色列
《路加福音》
《圣经》的矛盾之处
圣人路加
《圣经》的历史
《圣经》手稿
《约翰福音》
应验的《圣经》预言
《圣经》的翻译
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 圣人路加 to My Google!
Add 圣人路加 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 圣人路加
旅途 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutTheJourney.org, 保留所有权利。

Saint Luke

allaboutthejourney
Saint Luke

I decided to start with the writer known by many as Saint Luke, because that's where the archaeologists and historians seemed to start. Also, Luke wrote about one-quarter of the New Testament (the Gospel of Luke and the Book of Acts), so, for me, that was a big enough chunk of text to start testing the veracity of the entire New Testament.

Starting about 150 years ago, scholars in Europe started rejecting the historical records of Saint Luke. These academics declared that there was no evidence to support the existence of several locations and leaders mentioned in Luke's writings, and therefore, they rejected the entirety of his account. However, I discovered that archaeological finds during the last century have revealed that Luke was a very accurate historian and the two books he authored were absolutely authoritative records of history!

One of the greatest archaeologists of all time was Sir William Ramsay. He studied under the famous German historical schools in the mid-nineteenth century, which taught that the New Testament was a religious treatise written in the mid-200s AD, and not an historical document recorded in the first century. Ramsay was so convinced of this teaching that he entered the field of archaeology and went to Asia Minor to specifically find the physical evidence to refute Luke's biblical record. After years of field study, Ramsay completely reversed his entire view of the Bible and first century history. He wrote:

    Luke is a historian of the first rank; not merely are his statements of fact trustworthy, he is possessed of the true historic sense...in short, this author should be placed along with the greatest of historians.1
Luke's accuracy is demonstrated by the fact that he names key historical figures in the correct time sequence. He also uses the correct, and often obscure, government titles in various geographical areas, including the politarchs of Thessalonica, the temple wardens of Ephesus, the procouncil of Cyprus, and the "first man of the island" in Malta. In Luke's announcement of Jesus' public ministry, he mentions, "Lysanius tetrarch of Abilene". Scholars questioned Luke's credibility since the only Lysanius known for centuries was a leader of Chalcis who ruled from 40-36 BC. However, an inscription dated to the time of Tiberius (14-37 AD) was found, which records a temple dedication naming Lysanius as the "tetrarch of Abila" (Abilene near Damascus). This matched Luke's account and stunned the liberal scholarship of the day. 2

In the Book of Acts, Paul was brought before Gallio, the proconsul of Achaea. Again, archaeology confirms this account. At Delphi, an inscription from Emperor Claudius was discovered that says, "Lucius Junios Gallio, my friend, and the proconsul of Achaia..." Historians date the inscription to 52 AD, which supports the time of Paul's visit there in 51 AD. 3

Later in Acts, Erastus, a coworker of Paul, is appointed treasurer of Corinth. In 1928, archaeologists excavated a Corinthian theatre and discovered an inscription that reads, "Erastus in return for his aedilship laid the pavement at his own expense." The pavement was laid in 50 AD, and the term "aedile" refers to the designation of treasurer. 4

In another passage, Luke gives Plubius, the chief man on the island of Malta, the title, "first man of the island." Scholars questioned this strange title and deemed it unhistorical. Inscriptions have recently been discovered on the island that indeed give Plubius the title of "first man." 5

Elsewhere, Luke uses the Greek term "politarchs" ("rulers of the city") to refer to the leaders in Thessalonica. Although it sounds inconsequential, this was another hit against Luke's credibility for centuries, because no other Greek literature used this leadership term. However, approximately 20 inscriptions have now been discovered that bear the term "politarch," including five finds that specifically refer to the ancient leadership in Thessalonica. 6

As a final example, Saint Luke calls Iconium a city in Phyrigia. Who cares? Well, this was also a major rub against the credibility of Luke for centuries. Scholars, going all the way back to writings from historians like Cicero, maintained that Iconium was in Lycaonia, not Phyrigia. Therefore, scholars declared that the entire Book of Acts was unreliable. Guess what? In 1910, Ramsay was looking for the evidence to support this long-held claim against Luke and he uncovered a stone monument declaring that Iconium was indeed a city in Phyrigia. 7 Many archaeological discoveries since 1910 have confirmed this - Luke was right!

When reviewing the research and writings of Saint Luke, Famous historian A.N. Sherwin-White declares:

    In all, Luke names thirty-two countries, fifty-four cities, and nine islands without error. 8

    For Acts the confirmation of historicity is overwhelming. . . . Any attempt to reject its basic historicity must now appear absurd.
    9


Keep Reading Now!

Footnotes:
1 Sir William M. Ramsey, The Bearing of Recent Discovery on the Trustworthiness of the New Testament, Hodder & Stoughton, 1915.
2 Pat Zukeran, Archaeology and the New Testament, 2000, 4, http://www.probe.org/docs/arch-nt.html. Scripture citation: Luke 3:1.
3 Ibid. Scripture citation: Acts 18:12-17.
4 Ibid. Scripture citation: Acts 19:22.
5 Ibid. Scripture citation: Acts 28:7.
6 Eric Lyons, Luke and the Term Politarchas, Apologetic Press, 2002, http://www.apologeticspress.org/rr/rr2002/res0204b.htm. Scripture citation: Acts 17:6.
7 "The Book of Acts," New Testament Introductions. The Blue Letter Bible. 2002-04. http://www.blueletterbible.org/study/intros/acts.html. Scripture citation: Acts 14:6.
8 Norman Geisler, Baker Encyclopedia of Apologetics, Baker Books, 1999, 47.
9 A. N. Sherwin-White, Roman Society and Roman Law in the New Testament, Clarendon Press, 1963, 189.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?