《约翰福音》

《约翰福音》

 
当前位置: 旅途 >> 《约翰福音》

《约翰福音》
约翰也写了《新约》中的一大部分,包括《约翰福音》、书信和《启示录》,所以我接下来就从这里入手了…同样,我还没注重其“神学概念”— 只是先要考证这些“历史”元素…

嗯,我很快发现约翰的准确性也得到最近一些发现的支持。

在《约翰福音》中,耶稣在毕士大池边医好了一个人。约翰描述池边有五个廊子。1 以前学者们对这个地点表示怀疑。最近,在地下40英尺的地方,考古学家发现了一个有五个廊子的池子,而周围环境也和约翰的描述不无二致。2 在文章后面,约翰描述了西罗亚池3 是另一个被怀疑了几百年的地方。好,1897年考古学家已经发现了这个池子。4

《约翰福音》再往后读,约翰讲到本丢彼拉多在一个叫做“铺华石处”(希伯来语中叫“厄巴大”)的地方坐堂和耶稣讲话。5 几百年中,学者们都把这称为“神话”,不承认约翰记录的耶稣被彼拉多审问,因为耶路撒冷没有历史记载有叫厄巴大或“铺华石处”的衙门。然而,著名考古学家威廉•奥尔布赖特发现这个地方实际上就是罗马人在公元66-70年毁掉的安东尼塔的法庭。在哈德良时代耶路撒冷重建时还被埋在地下,但最近已被发掘出来。6

好,这是“实地支持”,那么那些像主持审判耶稣的罗马执政官本丢彼拉多的“非常”人物有没有佐证呢?

1961年,考古学家在以色列地中海沿岸的该撒利亚发现一块残匾。这块匾用拉丁文写成,嵌在去往该撒利亚露天剧场的台阶处。文中写着:“犹大巡抚本丢彼拉多以提庇留的名义献给该撒利亚人民一座圣殿。”提庇留王公元14-37年在位,这与《新约》里记录本丢彼拉多在公元26-36年做巡抚完全吻合。7

塔西图,一位著名的一世纪罗马历史学家,也提到了本丢彼拉多:

    基督斯,此名由此而来,于提庇留在位期间在我们的一个巡抚本丢彼拉多手里遭受了酷刑…8
等等。我没看错吧?一位罗马历史学家不仅提到了罗马巡抚本丢彼拉多,还提到了基督斯—基督—还有彼拉多对他施刑。对我来说,这太神了!我受到的教育一直是耶稣基督和《新约》里的事只能在《圣经》中找到。

感觉太深刻了…!有没有《圣经》以外别的古代著述也会提到《新约》中的人和事— 甚至是耶稣本人?

我在笔记上画了大大的一个星号…我一定要再研究这个问题…!

那么,现在做什么?

所有这些都发生过— 我意思是在历史上确有其事…我依然不接受这些事件的神学意义,但它们明显发生过…它们不是神话…它们不是谎言…它们是史实。

那么,我怎么考察这些事件的深度?是什么使得这些人如此热忱?是什么驱使这些人要记录和维护与这些历史事件相联系的信息?

算了吧!这些书还真有什么神圣的根基吗?凭知识说,我现在知道其中有些“超自然的”意味…不止是“超自然的”— 还有智能。但是,我真的能接受这些书是来自我们的时空维度之外吗…? 我准备把《圣经》看作是非常不一般的书了。我甚至已经可以确定它的历史可信度。但“神的启示”这种概念看起来还是不着边际。我的怀疑主义头脑还是无法接受这一点…

如果神真的从我们的四维空间以外送来这本书,他为什么不直接告诉我们?我知道这些《圣经》的作者都是得到了神的默示,但那对我来说还不够。看起来如果神真的将这本书通过一群大约40位作者送来的话,他还应给我们一些期望…不错,我是因《圣经》的历史真实性、考古支持和内在的完善等等而瞠目——这些证据很精彩,也使得《圣经》与众不同,但怎么能让我跨越“确实特别的书”和“来自神的启示”?

现在继续读!

1约翰福音5:1-15.
2 http://www.digbible.org/tour/bethesda.html.
3 约翰福音9:7.
4 http://www.bible-history.com/jerusalem/firstcenturyjerusalem_pool_of_siloam.html.
5 约翰福音19:13.
6 威廉•奥尔布赖特,《巴勒斯坦考古》,企鹅出版社,1960年.
7 普莱斯,《呼喊的石头》, 307-308.
8 塔西图,《编年史》,《历史》,第15章,第54段.


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


圣经是真实的吗?

《圣经》简介
《约翰福音》
《圣经》的矛盾之处
《圣经》的历史
《圣经》的翻译
《圣经》手稿
《圣经》预言
应验的《圣经》预言
以色列历史
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 《约翰福音》 to My Google!
Add 《约翰福音》 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 《约翰福音》
旅途 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutTheJourney.org, 保留所有权利。

Gospel Of John

allaboutthejourney
Gospel of John

John also wrote a big chunk of the New Testament, including the Gospel of John, letters, and the Book of Revelation, so that's where I went next... Again, I wasn't focusing on the "theological stuff" yet -- I just wanted to test the "historical" elements first...

Well, I soon discovered that John's accuracy is also supported by recent discoveries.

In the Gospel of John, Jesus heals a man at the Pool of Bethesda. John describes the pool as having five porticoes. 1 Until recently, this site was a point of scholarly skepticism. Then, 40 feet underground, archaeologists discovered a pool with five porticoes, and a surrounding area that perfectly matches John's description. 2 Later in the text, John describes the Pool of Siloam, 3 another site of contention for hundreds of years. Well, archaeologists discovered this pool in 1897. 4

Further in John's Gospel, John describes Pontius Pilate speaking to Jesus from the judgment seat in a place called "the Pavement" ("Gabbatha" in Hebrew). 5 For hundreds of years, scholars used this "myth" to reject John's record of Jesus and the trial by Pilate, because there was no historical record of a court called Gabbatha or "The Pavement" in Jerusalem. However, famous archaeologist William Albright revealed that this place was in fact the court of the Tower of Antonia, which was destroyed by the Romans in 66-70 AD. It was left buried when Jerusalem was rebuilt in the time of Hadrian, but it was recently uncovered during excavations there. 6

OK, that's great stuff for "site support," but what about some of these "larger-than-life" characters such as Pontius Pilate, the procurator of Rome who presided over the trial of Jesus?

Well, in 1961, archaeologists discovered a plaque fragment in Caesarea, a Roman city along the Mediterranean coast of Israel. The plaque was written in Latin and imbedded in a section of steps leading to Caesarea's Amphitheatre. The inscription includes the following: "Pontius Pilatus, Prefect of Judea has dedicated to the people of Caesarea a temple in honor of Tiberius." Emperor Tiberius reigned from 14 to 37 AD, perfectly meshing with the New Testament account that records Pontius Pilate ruling as governor from 26 to 36 AD. 7

Tacitus, a well-known first century Roman historian, also mentioned Pontius Pilate:

    Christus, from whom the name had its origin, suffered the extreme penalty during the reign of Tiberius at the hands of one of our procurators, Pontius Pilatus... 8
Wait. Did I read this right? A Roman historian not only mentions a Roman governor, Pontius Pilate, but he also mentions Christus -- Christ -- and his suffering at the hands of Pilate! For me, this was huge! I was always taught that Jesus Christ and the events of the New Testament were solely contained in the Bible.

I was blown away...! Are there other ancient writings outside the Bible mentioning New Testament people and events -- even Jesus Himself?

I made a big star in my notes... I was definitely coming back to this one...!

OK, now what...?

All of this stuff happened -- historically, I mean... I still didn't accept the theological implications of these events, but they obviously happened nonetheless... They weren't myths... They weren't hoaxes... They were historical events.

So, how could I start testing the depths of these events? What drove the writers of the Bible to such passion? What compelled these men to write and defend such profound messages in connection with these historical events?

Come on! Were there really divine underpinnings to all of these books? Intellectually, I now knew something "metaphysical" was out there... More than "metaphysical" -- something with intelligence. But, could I really accept that these books were from outside our dimensions of time and space...?

I was ready to accept the Bible as a very special book. I was even ready to declare its historical trustworthiness. But the notion of "divine inspiration" still seemed a little over the edge to me. I just couldn't get my skeptical mind around that one…

If God truly delivered this book from outside our four dimensions, wouldn't he just tell us? I understand that the writers of the Bible say it's divinely inspired, but that's not enough for me. It just seems that if God truly delivered this book to mankind through a group of 40 or so authors that he would give us something to hang our hats on… Yes, I'm stunned by the Bible's historical veracity, archaeological support, internal integrity, etc. - the evidence is fantastic, and definitely sets the Bible apart -- but how could I ever be asked to jump the chasm from "really special book" to "divinely inspired letter from God"?

Read More Now!

Footnotes:
1 John 5:1-15.
2 http://www.digbible.org/tour/bethesda.html.
3 John 9:7.
4 http://www.bible-history.com/jerusalem/firstcenturyjerusalem_pool_of_siloam.html.
5 John 19:13.
6 William Albright, The Archaeology of Palestine, Penguin Books, 1960.
7 Price, The Stones Cry Out, 307-308.
8 Tacitus, Annales, Historiae, Chapter 15, paragraphs 54.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?