Clicky

《圣经》的矛盾之处

《圣经》的矛盾之处

 
当前位置: 旅途 >> 《圣经》的矛盾之处

《圣经》中的矛盾之处
好,先把预言放在一边,《圣经》中的矛盾之处和文本的不准确要怎样解释呢?如果这是受神启示的特别的书,我怎么能接受一本来自完美源头却并不完美的《圣经》呢?

现今《圣经》译本中所谓的不准确和错误对我来说是一个主要的理性障碍 — 所以我决定花点时间潜入这一争论中…当我开始这次旅程时,我还没怎么读过《圣经》。然而, 我还是找到一份“《圣经》中的矛盾之处”的单子让我能理由充分地拒绝它!现在我该把那个单子拿出来了…

公平地讲,我知道我应该按照传统的逻辑推理原则分析这所谓的《圣经》错误清单。正如生活中的许多事,一些事看似矛盾,但细究起来就会不同。“不矛盾法则”是所有逻辑推理的基础,它认为一个事物不可能同时是“它”又“不是它”。例如,白天和黑夜不可能同时同地出现。因此,如果《圣经》经文违背这一法则,那就确定它是矛盾了。然而,基于同样法则,两种说法可以不同但不矛盾。

例如,法律案件中一个证人可以作证说他在犯罪现场看到杰克和山姆两人,而另一证人可能作证说他只看到山姆。这两种说法不矛盾。实际上,法庭上这些说法被看作是互补。

我很快发现这是许多《圣经》中所谓矛盾的本质。如在《马太福音》中,我们读到耶稣遇到两个瞎子。在《马可福音》和《路加福音》中,我们读到耶稣只遇到一个瞎子。1 在《马太福音》和《马可福音》中,我们看到耶稣在客西马尼独自祷告了三次,但在《路加福音》中,我们读到耶稣独自祷告了一次。2 在合理的证据原则和不矛盾法则下,这些都不是矛盾的经文,但我还是把它们写在我的单子里了。

一些“《圣经》中的矛盾之处”看起来矛盾,其实只是因为《圣经》翻译工作的复杂精细。对于《圣经》的原来语言(《旧约》是希伯来语,《新约》是希腊语)分析一下就可以解决很多明显争执。这和审查任何其它的翻译材料没什么不同。任何语言(尤其包括希伯来语和希腊语)都有特别的局限性和微妙之处,这些都造成翻译的困难。翻译时的历史环境也会造成一些误解。

比如,《使徒行传》有两处讲到扫罗去大马士革路上的悔改。在《使徒行传》9:7中:“…同行的人站在那里,说不出话来,听见声音,却看不见人。”在《使徒行传》22:9中:“…与我同行的人看见了那光,却没有听明那位对我说话的声音。”(钦定本)。咋一看这些叙述是矛盾的—一个说扫罗的同伴听到声音,而另一个说听不到声音。然而,希腊语文本就解决了这个问题。“动词‘听’( akouo )的结构在两句中是不一样的。在《使徒行传》9:7中用的是属格,即被听或是某声音到达耳朵里;不能表明此人听懂他听到的声音没有。然而,宾格结构描述的是听到,包括头脑中对于所说信息的理解。从这里我们就可以明显看出两段话并不矛盾。”3 因此,《使徒行传》22:9没有否认扫罗的同伴听到某种声音,只是他们不知道听到的是什么声音罢了。

当我继续拣选我的单子时,我确实有些惭愧了。《圣经》中是有几处名字和数字不一致的地方,而这肯定是千百年来一直都有发生的誊抄错误。然而,我已能够合理解释清单上的所谓重要的不合理之处了。

我还没有全查完呢!我把自己叫做有知识的怀疑主义者,而我一直没有特别相信这件事。遗憾的是,我一直排斥《圣经》,只是着重在小小的一张“所谓的《圣经》矛盾之处”的单子上。然而,当我看到《圣经》的结构、生命力、完整、历史真实性、考古证据、科学见解、外部的确凿记录,以及几百个应验的预言这样的奇迹后,我还是固执地看向别处。现在,我的双重自我显示出来了!

_______

我差不多一个星期没有读书(甚至思考)…

我没有别处可去…

我怎么对待所有这些生命中的“新现实”…?

我怎么对待《旧约》中所有关于即将来到的弥赛亚的预言…?

读下一章!

1 马太福音 9:27-31;马可福音 8:22-26 和路加福音 18:35-43.
2 马太福音26:36-46 和马可福音14:32-42;路加福音22:39-46.
3 W.F. 安得特,《<圣经>是否自相矛盾?》 ,13-14.


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


圣经是真实的吗?

以色列历史
《新约》考古
《圣经》的历史
圣人路加
应验的《圣经》预言
古代以色列
《圣经》考古
《圣经》的翻译
《圣经》手稿
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 《圣经》的矛盾之处 to My Google!
Add 《圣经》的矛盾之处 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 《圣经》的矛盾之处
旅途 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutTheJourney.org, 保留所有权利。

Bible Contradictions

allaboutthejourney
Bible Contradictions

OK, prophecy aside, what about all those Bible contradictions and textual inaccuracies? If this is some kind of special book from God, how can I reconcile an imperfect Bible with a supposedly perfect source?

The alleged inaccuracies and errors in today's Bible translations were a major intellectual barrier for me -- so I decided to dive into that argument for awhile… When I started this journey, I hadn't read much of the Bible yet. However, I still maintained a "list" of "Bible contradictions" to help substantiate why I totally rejected it! It was time for me to pull out that list again...

To be fair, I knew I needed to analyze my list of alleged Bible errors according to traditional rules of logic and reason. Like many things in life, certain facts can appear contradictory, but further investigation reveals something different. "The Law of Non-Contradiction," which is the basis of all logical reasoning, maintains that something cannot be "a" and "non-a" at the same time. For instance, it can't be day and night at the same time and at the same place. Therefore, if a biblical scripture violates this Law, it has been established as a contradiction. However, based on the same Law, two statements can differ without being in contradiction.

For example, one witness in a court case might testify that he saw two people at a crime scene, Jake and Sam, while another witness may only testify to seeing Sam. These statements are not contradictory. In fact, in a court of law, these statements could be considered complementary.

I quickly discovered that this is the nature of many of the alleged contradictions in the Bible. For instance, in Matthew, we read that Jesus met two blind men. In Mark and Luke, we read about Jesus meeting only one blind man. 1 In Matthew and Mark, we read that Jesus went to pray alone three times in the Garden of Gethsemane, whereas, in Luke, we read that Jesus went alone to pray on one occasion. 2 Under legal rules of evidence and the Law of Non-Contradiction, these aren't contradictory scriptures, and yet they made my list.

Some "Bible contradictions" appear contradictory solely because of the intricacies of Bible translation. Analysis of the original languages of the Bible (Hebrew for the Old Testament and Greek for the New Testament) can solve many apparent issues. It's no different than any other textual review of translated material. All languages (including especially Hebrew and Greek) have special limitations and nuances that cause difficulty in translation. The historical context of the translation can also cause some misunderstanding.

For instance, the Book of Acts has two accounts of Paul's conversion on the Road to Damascus. In Acts 9:7: "…the men which journeyed with him stood speechless, hearing a voice, but seeing no man." In Acts 22:9: "…they that were with me saw indeed the light, and were afraid; but they heard not the voice of him that spake to me" (King James Version). At first glance, these accounts seem contradictory -- one says that Paul's companions heard a voice, while the other says that no voice was heard. However, the Greek text solves the matter. "The construction of the verb 'to hear' (akouo) is not the same in both accounts. In Acts 9:7 it's used with the genitive, in Acts 22:9 with the accusative. The construction with the genitive simply expresses that something is being heard or that certain sounds reach the ear; nothing is indicated as to whether a person understands what he hears or not. The construction with the accusative, however, describes a hearing, which includes mental apprehension of the message spoken. From this it becomes evident that the two passages are not contradictory." 3 Therefore, Acts 22:9 doesn't deny that Paul's companions heard certain sounds; it simply says that they didn't understand the sounds that they heard.

As I continued to pick apart my list, I was actually embarrassed with myself. Sure, there are a few inconsequential names and numbers in the Bible that must be considered copyist errors that arose over thousands of years. However, I was able to logically explain every alleged inconsistency of any real significance on my list.

I hadn't even checked this stuff out! I called myself an intellectual skeptic, and yet I hadn't treated this matter with much credibility. Sadly, I had rejected the Bible by focusing on a little list of "alleged Bible contradictions". Yet, when presented with the miracle of the Bible's structure, survival, integration, historical veracity, archaeological evidence, scientific insights, outside corroborating records, and hundreds of fulfilled prophecies, I stubbornly looked the other way. Now, the double standard I was living started to reveal itself to me!

_______



I actually stopped reading (or even thinking) for about a week...

I had no where else to go...

What was I going to do with all of these "new realities" in my life...?

What was I going to do with those Old Testament prophecies of a coming Messiah...?

Go To The Next Chapter!

Footnotes:
1 Matthew 9:27-31; Mark 8:22-26 and Luke 18:35-43.
2 Matthew 26:36-46 and Mark 14:32-42; Luke 22:39-46.
3 W.F. Arndt, Does the Bible Contradict Itself?, 13-14.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?