古代美索不达米亚

古代美索不达米亚

 
当前位置: 旅途 >> 古代美索不达米亚

古代美索不达米亚
那么,考古工作对于古代美索不达米亚揭示了什么?

因为我一直试图将古代地图和现在的地图对应起来,所以我决定从寻找《圣经》中提到的最古老的城市和文明的考古证据开始。亚伯拉罕和族人早期生活的城市是怎样的?它们真的存在过吗?亚伯拉罕的祖城“吾珥”据说是一座美索不达米亚南部的强大城邦—在《旧约》中提到四次。嗯,原来“吾珥”位于现在的伊拉克。由于当地的争战,上世纪它的发掘工作时有时停,显露了大量亚伯拉罕时代的异教文化信息。在《创世记》中,亚伯拉罕的父亲,他拉,举家北迁到“哈兰”。 1这座古城已在今日的土耳其被发现和发掘。在土耳其的当地还有与亚伯拉罕的祖父和曾祖拿鹤和西鹿同名的村落。2

至今已发掘许多遗址和器物,使我们对于古代美索不达米亚文化有了很多了解。其中一个神奇的发现是苏美尔君主列表,约可追溯到公元前2100年。这一系列泥版和棱镜很让人振奋,因为它把苏美尔君王分成两类:在“大洪水”之前的统治者和在“大洪水”之后的统治者。3实际上,在大多数古代文化中都有全球性洪水的记载。例如古代巴比伦的《吉尔伽美什史诗》就包括了大量的洪水故事。这部在尼尼微和米吉多等地发现的泥版上记述的史诗居然写着某人造了大船,里面装满了动物,并让鸟儿去看洪水是否退去。4

二十世纪的考古对于了解古代美索不达米亚的伟大军事文明和它们对于整个地区的法律和文化产生的终极影响也很有帮助。一个很有意义的发现是《汉谟拉比法典》,为七英尺高,用黑色闪长岩雕刻,包括约300条巴比伦国王汉谟拉比(也称汉谟拉皮)的法律。这部法典可追溯到公元前1750年,包括很多与《圣经》前五卷相似的民法条例。在底格里斯河附近“努兹”古城的发掘发现了约20,000块泥版。其年代介于公元前1500到1400年,这些楔形文字的文本解释了当时的文化和风俗,其中许多和《圣经》前几章的叙述很相似。5

说到主要的古代帝国,整个《旧约》中都提到赫梯文明曾统治今天的土耳其、叙利亚和黎巴嫩,而除《圣经》之外,再没有对这里居民的记述。约100年前,在土耳其的安卡拉东部发现了古城“博戈科尔”,证明是“赫梯帝国”的开放都城。自那时起,考古学家们已经发现了1900年代之前一直被许多学者认为是一个“想象中”民族的丰富历史、语言和文化资料。6

《圣经》说尼布甲尼撒公元前588年摧毁了耶路撒冷,并将犹太人放逐巴比伦达70年之久。那么,古巴比伦也出土了,在今天的伊拉克南55英里的地方占地近3,000英亩。其遗迹包括著名的金字形神塔结构、尼布甲尼撒王王宫,以及厚达80英尺的巨型城墙(其宽度足以使驷马战车掉头)。7

非利士人被称为“海上民族”之一,他们不断为了掌握迦南而与古代以色列人争战。《旧约》中不止两百次提到非利士人在地中海上建立了坚固的海港阿什凯泽,它已在现在加沙北部被发现。如耶利米和《旧约》中其他先知预言的,尼布甲尼撒在公元前604年摧毁了阿什凯泽。8

我对自己关于古代美索不达米亚的研究感到吃惊!说我纯粹无知吧,但我真地不知道《圣经》中提到的这些城市的确存在过!于是我继续挖掘…

现在继续探索!

1 《创世记》11:31。见阿尔弗雷德• 霍尔斯,《考古与<旧约>》,贝克书局,1998年, 59-72.
2 《创世记》 11:22.
3 霍尔斯,《考古与<旧约>》,188.
4 同上, 192-96. 亦见《创世记》7 & 8章.
5 兰德尔•普莱斯,《呼喊的石头:考古中揭示的<圣经>真相》,收获节出版社,1997年, 92-94. 亦见,霍尔斯,《考古与<旧约>》, 119, 102.
6 派特•组克兰,《考古与<旧约>》,探索事奉, www.probe.org/docs/arch-ot.html, 2003年 2-3. 亦见,普莱斯,《呼喊的石头》, 82-83.
7 霍尔斯,《考古与<旧约>》,372-378.
8 同上, 233-234.


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


圣经是真实的吗?

《新约》考古
以色列考古
预言的力量
《圣经》预言
《路加福音》
《圣经》的翻译
以色列历史
《圣经》手稿
古代美索不达米亚
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 古代美索不达米亚 to My Google!
Add 古代美索不达米亚 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 古代美索不达米亚
旅途 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutTheJourney.org, 保留所有权利。

Ancient Mesopotamia

allaboutthejourney
Ancient Mesopotamia

So, what has archaeology revealed about ancient Mesopotamia?

Since I was always trying to reconcile ancient maps with today's maps, I decided to start by looking at the archaeological evidence for the most ancient cities and civilizations mentioned in the Bible. How about the early cities of Abraham and the Patriarchs? Did they really exist? Abraham's ancestral home of "Ur" is presented as a powerful city-state in southern Mesopotamia - it's mentioned four times in the Old Testament. Well, it turns out "Ur" is located in modern Iraq. Depending on strife in the region, it has been excavated on and off during the last century, exposing a wealth of information about the pagan culture of Abraham's time. In the Book of Genesis, Abraham's father, Terah, moved his family north to "Haran".1 This ancient city has been discovered and excavated in modern-day Turkey. Also found in that same area of Turkey are villages that still have the names of Abraham's grandfather and great grandfather, Nahor and Serug. 2

To date, numerous sites and artifacts have been uncovered that reveal a great deal about the culture of ancient Mesopotamia. One of the most dramatic finds is the "Sumerian King List," which dates to approximately 2100 BC. This collection of clay tablets and prisms is most exciting because it divides the Sumerian kings into two categories; those who reigned before the "great flood" and those who reigned after it. 3 Actually, records of a global flood are found throughout most ancient cultures. For instance, the "Epic of Gilgamesh" from the ancient Babylonians contains an extensive flood story. Discovered on clay tablets in locations such as Ninevah and Megiddo, the Epic even includes a man who built a great ship, filled it with animals, and used birds to see if the water had receded. 4

Archaeology in the last century has also shed light on the great military civilizations of ancient Mesopotamia and their ultimate impact on law and culture throughout the region. One significant find is the "Law Code of Hammurabi," which is a seven foot tall, black diorite carving containing about 300 laws of Babylon's King Hammurabi. Dated to about 1750 BC, the Law Code contains many civil laws that are similar to those found in the first five books of the Bible. Another dig at the ancient city of "Nuzi" near the Tigris River uncovered approximately 20,000 clay tablets. Dated between 1500 and 1400 BC, these cuneiform texts explain the culture, customs and laws of the time, many of which are similar to those found in the early books of the Bible. 5

As far as major ancient empires, the Hittite civilization is mentioned throughout the Old Testament as ruling the area of present-day Turkey, Syria and Lebanon, yet nothing was known of these people outside of the Bible. About 100 years ago, ancient "Boghazkoy" was discovered east of Ankara, Turkey, which revealed itself as the expansive capital city of the "Hittite Empire". Since then, archaeologists have uncovered a wealth of information about the history, language and culture of a people considered "imaginary" by many scholars until the 1900's. 6

The Bible tells us a great deal about Nebuchadnezzar and the Babylonian Empire, which destroyed Jerusalem in 586 BC and exiled the Jews to Babylon for 70 years. Well, ancient Babylon has now been uncovered, comprising nearly 3,000 acres about 55 miles south of current-day Baghdad in Iraq. The ruins include the famous ziggurat structures, the Palace of King Nebuchadnezzar, and the enormous walls that measured 80 feet thick (wide enough to allow a four-horse chariot to make a full turn on the top of the wall).7

The Philistines were known as one of the "Sea Peoples" that constantly warred against the Israelites for control of early Canaan. Mentioned over 200 times in the Old Testament, the Philistines had a major fortified seaport at Ashkelon on the Mediterranean Sea, which was discovered just north of present-day Gaza. Nebuchadnezzar destroyed Ashkelon in 604 BC, as predicted by Jeremiah and other Old Testament prophets. 8

I was really impressed with my study of ancient Mesopotamia! Call me totally naļve, but I had no idea that all these places mentioned in the Bible truly existed! I dug in more...

Dig in now!

Footnotes:
1 Genesis 11:31. See Alfred Hoerth, Archaeology and the Old Testament, Baker Books, 1998, 59-72.
2 Genesis 11:22.
3 Hoerth, Archaeology and the Old Testament, 188.
4 Ibid., 192-96. See also, Genesis, chapters 7 & 8.
5 Randall Price, The Stones Cry Out: What Archaeology Reveals About the Truth of the Bible, Harvest House Publishers, 1997, 92-94. See also, Hoerth, Archaeology and the Old Testament, 119, 102.
6 Pat Zukeran, Archaeology and the Old Testament, Probe Ministries, www.probe.org/docs/arch-ot.html, 2003, 2-3. See also, Price, The Stones Cry Out, 82-83.
7 Hoerth, Archaeology and the Old Testament, 372-378.
8 Ibid., 233-234.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?