化石记录的问题

化石记录的问题

 
当前位置: 旅途 >> 化石记录的问题

化石记录的问题:科学家说些什么?
作家路德•桑德兰看到了化石记录的问题,所以他决定到这些顶级博物馆中去找确凿证据。桑德兰采访了五位德高望重的博物馆官员,这些官员在各自研究领域都是权威人物,其中包括美国博物馆、芝加哥菲尔德自然史博物馆和不列颠自然史博物馆的代表。五位中没有人能拿出哪怕一件生物化石过渡系列的例证来证明某种动植物转变成另一种。

不列颠自然史博物馆号称拥有全球最大的化石收藏。在五位权威博物馆官员中,桑德兰采访了不列颠博物馆资深古生物学家和著名科学期刊的编辑柯林•帕特森博士。帕特森是拥有丰富化石记录知识的著名专家。他拿不出哪怕一个宏观进化过渡的例证。实际上,帕特森还为不列颠自然史博物馆写了一本名为《进化》的书。当被问及为什么书中一张过渡化石的照片也没有时,他的回答是:

    …我完全同意你说的话,在我书中确实没有进化过渡的直接例证。如果我知道有的话,无论是化石还是活物,我肯定会收录的。你提出该有一位画家来描绘出这种过渡。可是画家又从哪里获得信息呢?坦白说,我无法提供这种例证,而如果我让画家来画出它的话,那不是误导读者吗?这本书是我四年前写的。如果我现在写的话,这本书肯定会很不一样。我相信渐变论这个概念,不是因为达尔文的权威性,而是因为我似乎需要它的解释才能理解遗传学。然而古德和美国博物馆的人说没有过渡化石这点也是难以批驳的。我自己作为一个古生物学家,也十分关心化石记录中先祖形式的鉴别这样的哲学问题。你说我至少应该“拿一张每种生物类型起源的化石照片出来。”我坦白地说—没有一种化石可以让我们提出无懈可击的论据。2
好,我来补充完整。在我的研究中,我一个过渡化石都没找到过。因此,按照达尔文自己的话说,他最初的宏观进化过程理论就立不住脚。古生物学在1800年代中期曾是一个崭新的科学学科,而现在,约150年后,我们知道化石证据无法提供达尔文所需的支持。

动物学博士大卫•B.基茨是斯托沃博物馆的馆长。在一本进化论专业期刊中,他写道:
    尽管古生物学提供了“看到”进化的手段这一光明前景,它也为进化论者带来了讨厌的困难,其中最昭著的是化石记录中存在很多“鸿沟”。进化论要求在物种间有过渡形式,而古生物学无法提供这些…3
瑞典隆德大学教授,知名植物学家,进化论者N.赫尔博•尼尔森也说到:
    我试图用四十多年的实验表明进化论,这一努力已彻底失败…现在化石材料很完备,已足够构造新的类别,所以缺乏过渡物种不能归结为缺乏化石材料。这些漏洞确实存在,永远无法弥补。4
就连流行媒体也紧跟其上了。以下摘自《新闻周刊》的一篇文章:
    自达尔文时代以来,人和猿之间欠缺的环节就一直令宗教基要主义者欣慰。这个欠缺环节正是幽灵生物的整个等级系统中最魅惑的部分…越多的科学家寻找物种之间的过渡形式,他们就越是沮丧。5

下一页!

1 柯林•帕特森,私人谈话。路德•桑德兰,《达尔文的谜团:化石和其它问题》,第四版,1988年, 88-90.
2 同上。
3 《进化论》第28卷,467.
4 尼尔森,引自《人类出现前的地球》,51页.
5 “人类是奥妙的偶然吗?”《新闻周刊》,1980年11月3日.


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

生命的起源
智能设计理论
生命的奇迹
智能设计的证据
化石记录的问题
化石记录
查尔斯•达尔文
进化论
脱氧核糖核酸分子(DNA分子)
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 化石记录的问题 to My Google!
Add 化石记录的问题 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 化石记录的问题
旅途 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutTheJourney.org, 保留所有权利。

Problems With The Fossil Record

allaboutthejourney
Problems With the Fossil Record - What are the Scientists Saying?

Author Luther Sunderland saw the problems with the fossil record, so he determined to get the definitive answer from the top museums themselves. Sunderland interviewed five respected museum officials, recognized authorities in their individual fields of study, including representatives from the American Museum, the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago, and the British Museum of Natural History. None of the five officials were able to offer a single example of a transitional series of fossilized organisms that document the transformation of one Kind of plant or animal into another. 1

The British Museum of Natural History boasts the largest collection of fossils in the world. Among the five respected museum officials, Sunderland interviewed Dr. Colin Patterson, Senior Paleontologist at the British Museum and editor of a prestigious scientific journal. Patterson is a well known expert having an intimate knowledge of the fossil record. He was unable to give a single example of Macro-Evolutionary transition. In fact, Patterson wrote a book for the British Museum of Natural History entitled, "Evolution". When asked why he had not included a single photograph of a transitional fossil in his book, Patterson responded:

    ...I fully agree with your comments on the lack of direct illustration of evolutionary transitions in my book. If I knew of any, fossil or living, I would certainly have included them. You suggest that an artist should be used to visualize such transformations, but where would he get the information from? I could not, honestly, provide it, and if I were to leave it to artistic license, would that not mislead the reader? I wrote the text of my book four years ago. If I were to write it now, I think the book would be rather different. Gradualism is a concept I believe in, not just because of Darwin's authority, but because my understanding of genetics seems to demand it. Yet Gould and the American Museum people are hard to contradict when they say there are no transitional fossils. As a paleontologist myself, I am much occupied with the philosophical problems of identifying ancestral forms in the fossil record. You say that I should at least "show a photo of the fossil from which each type of organism was derived." I will lay it on the line - there is not one such fossil for which one could make a watertight argument. 2
OK, I just wanted to complete that loop. In my research, I haven't found even one transitional fossil. Therefore, based on Darwin's own words, his original theory of macro-evolutionary progression didn't happen. Paleontology was a brand new scientific discipline in the mid-1800's, and now, roughly 150 years later, we know that the fossil record doesn't provide the support Darwin himself required.

David B. Kitts. PhD (Zoology) is Head Curator of the Department of Geology at the Stoval Museum. In an evolutionary trade journal, he wrote:

    Despite the bright promise that paleontology provides a means of "seeing" evolution, it has presented some nasty difficulties for evolutionists, the most notorious of which is the presence of "gaps" in the fossil record. Evolution requires intermediate forms between species and paleontology does not provide them… 3
N. Heribert Nilsson, a famous botanist, evolutionist and professor at Lund University in Sweden, continues:

    My attempts to demonstrate evolution by an experiment carried on for more than 40 years have completely failed… The fossil material is now so complete that it has been possible to construct new classes, and the lack of transitional series cannot be explained as being due to scarcity of material. The deficiencies are real, they will never be filled. 4
Even the popular press is catching on. This is from an article in Newsweek magazine:

The missing link between man and apes, whose absence has comforted religious fundamentalists since the days of Darwin, is merely the most glamorous of a whole hierarchy of phantom creatures … The more scientists have searched for the transitional forms that lie between species, the more they have been frustrated. 5

Next Page!

Footnotes:
1 Colin Patterson, personal communication. Luther Sunderland, Darwin's Enigma: Fossils and Other Problems, 4th edition, 1988, 88-90.
2 Ibid.
3 Evolution, vol. 28, 467.
4 Nilsson quoted in The Earth Before Man, p. 51.
5 "Is Man a Subtle Accident," Newsweek, November 3, 1980.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?