《圣经》手稿

《圣经》手稿

 
当前位置: 旅途 >> 《圣经》手稿

《圣经》手稿
与其它古代著述相比,《圣经》是古代文学作品中保存最好的,明显与众不同。在整个中东、地中海和欧洲地区还令人瞩目地保存着几千份极为一致的《旧约》手稿和手抄残片。1 而且,这些文本与在公元前3世纪从希伯来文翻译成希腊语的《七十子译本》也基本一致。2 20世纪四五十年代在以色列发现的《死海古卷》也为这本公元前一、二、三世纪的《犹太圣经》(《旧约》)的古代传承提供了惊人的证据。3

《新约》的手稿证据也是惊人的,现在发现和归档的古代手稿近25,000份,其中至少5,600是最初的希腊语的手抄稿或残片。4 一些手稿文本可追溯到二世纪或三世纪早期,从最初的文本真迹到现存最早残片的时间间隔仅有短短的40-60年。5

有趣的是,这些手稿证据远远超过我们每天认为是真迹的其它古籍手稿的可靠性。我们来比较一下:尤里斯•凯撒的《高卢战记》(现存10部手稿,最早的距真迹1000年);小普林尼的《自然史》(7部手稿,相距750年);修昔底德的《历史》(8部手稿,相距1,300年);希罗多德的《历史》(8部手稿,相距1350年);柏拉图(7部手稿,相距1,300年);塔西图的《年鉴》(10部手稿,相距1,000年)。6

著名《圣经》学者F.F.布鲁斯说:

    世上没有哪部古代典籍能像《新约》这样拥有如此丰富的文本证据。7
古希腊最知名的书籍,荷马的《伊利亚特》是保存第二完好的古代文学作品,目前发现了643本手稿证据。其中有764行有争议的文字,而《新约》手稿只有40行。8实际上,许多人都没有意识到威廉•莎士比亚的37部剧(写于1600年代)没有任何手稿留存下来,而学者们一直不得不填补其作品中的缺漏。9与《新约》拥有超过5,600份希腊语原版手稿和残片相比,其未免显得苍白。手稿和残片保证了《新约》的完整。实际上,除了11处细微的经文出入外,整部《新约》都可以用除圣经之外公元2、3世纪的早期教会领袖的著述还原出来。10
    确实,仅就文献的数量,事件和文献相距的时间,以及可考的证实或与之相悖的文献的种类来看,《新约》显然是证据最充分的古代典籍。古代手稿证据中没有任何一部能够比得上它的丰富和完善的文稿。11
考据学”的学术纪律保证了我们今日的《圣经》译本和古代《圣经》手稿是根本一致的,只有由于时代久远誊抄产生的几处无足轻重的出入。我们必须记住《圣经》在最早的印刷术发明之前的几百年中一直是手抄的。然而,其文本却保存得极为完好。再一次,我想到这一点—整部《新约》约有20,000行,只有40行有出入。这40行只占了整个文本的0.25%,而且没有在任何程度上影响到《新约》的教义和原则。我再次将它和荷马的《伊利亚特》相比较。在荷马的这部经典中约有15,600行,764行有出入。这764行占整个文本的5%,而似乎没人质疑这部古代著作的总体完善性。

使我真正吃惊的是,我发现《圣经》比我这些年来读过和接受过的任何古籍,如荷马、柏拉图和亚里士多德等,都保护得更好—而且好得多。就我的“口述传统篡改加转译”的理论而言,我发现《圣经》与古代的原本没有什么改变。只是当《圣经》从一个国家传到另一个国家,其译成的语言并不能完全反映原来的希腊语、希伯来语和阿拉姆语。然而,除了语法和文化差异外,“《圣经》手稿”绝对是忠实于原本的形式和内容的,并以丰富的译本形式令人惊叹地完好保存下来。

现在继续读!

1 乔希•麦克道尔,《需要判决的新证据》,托马斯.奈尔森出版社, 1999年,71-73.
2 乔希•麦克道尔,《需要判决的新证据》,第一卷,托马斯.奈尔森出版社, 1979年, 58-59.
3 同上,. 56-57.
4 麦克道尔,《需要判决的新证据》, 34-36.
5 约翰•赖兰的约翰福音残片,曼彻斯特约翰•赖兰图书馆,英国。亦见,同上, 38.
6 麦克道尔,《需要判决的新证据》,第一卷, 42.
7 F.F.布鲁斯,《书籍和羊皮纸:英语圣经的来历》,菲林明H.雷维尔有限公司, 1950年, 178.
8 诺曼L.盖斯勒和威廉E.尼克斯,《圣经概论》,穆迪,芝加哥,修订和扩展,1086年, 366-67.
9 http://shakespeare.com/faq/,达纳•斯普拉德利出版社,2002年.
10 麦克道尔,《需要判决的新证据》,第一卷, 50-51.
11 拉维•撒迦利亚,《人类没有神能否生存?》,文字出版社,1994年, 162.


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


圣经是真实的吗?

圣人路加
《圣经》手稿
以色列考古
《路加福音》
《圣经》的翻译
《圣经》预言
以色列历史
古代以色列
《约翰福音》
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 《圣经》手稿 to My Google!
Add 《圣经》手稿 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 《圣经》手稿
旅途 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutTheJourney.org, 保留所有权利。

Bible Manuscripts

allaboutthejourney
Bible Manuscripts

Dramatically, when the Bible manuscripts are compared to other ancient writings, they stand alone as the best-preserved literary works of all antiquity. Remarkably, there are thousands of existing Old Testament manuscripts and fragments copied throughout the Middle East, Mediterranean and European regions that agree phenomenally with each other. 1 In addition, these texts substantially agree with the Septuagint version of the Old Testament, which was translated from Hebrew to Greek some time during the 3rd century BC. 2 The Dead Sea Scrolls, discovered in Israel in the 1940's and 50's, also provide astounding evidence for the reliability of the ancient transmission of the Jewish Scriptures (Old Testament) in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd centuries BC. 3

The manuscript evidence for the "New Testament" is also dramatic, with nearly 25,000 ancient manuscripts discovered and archived so far, at least 5,600 of which are copies and fragments in the original Greek. 4 Some manuscript texts date to the early second and third centuries, with the time between the original autographs and our earliest existing fragment being a remarkably short 40-60 years. 5

Interestingly, this manuscript evidence far surpasses the manuscript reliability of other ancient writings that we trust as authentic every day. Look at these comparisons: Julius Caesar's The Gallic Wars (10 manuscripts remain, with the earliest one dating to 1,000 years after the original autograph); Pliny the Younger's Natural History (7 manuscripts; 750 years elapsed); Thucydides' History (8 manuscripts; 1,300 years elapsed); Herodotus' History (8 manuscripts; 1,350 years elapsed); Plato (7 manuscripts; 1,300 years); and Tacitus' Annals (20 manuscripts; 1,000 years). 6

Renowned Bible scholar F.F. Bruce declares:

    There is no body of ancient literature in the world which enjoys such a wealth of good textual attestation as the New Testament. 7
Homer's Iliad, the most renowned book of ancient Greece, is the second best-preserved literary work of all antiquity, with 643 copies of manuscript support discovered to date. In those copies, there are 764 disputed lines of text, as compared to 40 lines in all the New Testament manuscripts. 8 In fact, many people are unaware that there are no surviving manuscripts of any of William Shakespeare's 37 plays (written in the 1600's), and scholars have been forced to fill some gaps in his works. 9 This pales in textual comparison with the over 5,600 copies and fragments of the New Testament in the original Greek that, together, assure us that nothing's been lost. In fact, all of the New Testament except eleven minor verses can be reconstructed outside the Bible from the writings of the early church leaders in the second and third centuries AD. 10

    In real terms, the New Testament is easily the best attested ancient writing in terms of the sheer number of documents, the time span between the events and the document, and the variety of documents available to sustain or contradict it. There is nothing in ancient manuscript evidence to match such textual availability and integrity. 11
The academic discipline of "textual criticism" assures us that the Bible translations we have today are essentially the same as the ancient Bible manuscripts, with the exception of a few inconsequential discrepancies that have been introduced over time through copyist error. We must remember that the Bible was hand-copied for hundreds of years before the invention of the first printing press. Nevertheless, the text is exceedingly well preserved. Again, I pondered this -- of the approximately 20,000 lines that make up the entire New Testament, only 40 lines are in question. These 40 lines represent one quarter of one percent of the entire text and do not in any way affect the teaching and doctrine of the New Testament. I again compared this with Homer's Iliad. Of the approximately 15,600 lines that make up Homer's classic, 764 lines are in question. These 764 lines represent over 5% of the entire text, and yet nobody seems to question the general integrity of that ancient work.

To my real surprise, I discovered the Bible to be better preserved -- by far -- than other ancient works I've read and accepted over the years, such as Homer, Plato and Aristotle. As far as my "interpretation of an interpolation of an oral tradition" theory, I found that the Bible was not changed or interpreted from the ancient source texts. Simply, as the Bible was carried from country to country, it was translated into languages that don't necessarily mirror the original languages of Greek, Hebrew and Aramaic. However, other than some grammatical and cultural differences, the "Bible manuscripts" are absolutely true to their original form and content, and remarkably well-preserved in their various translations.

Read More Now!

Footnotes:
1 Josh McDowell, The New Evidence that Demands a Verdict, Thomas Nelson Publishers, 1999, 71-73.
2 Josh McDowell, Evidence that Demands a Verdict, vol.1, Thomas Nelson Publishers, 1979, 58-59.
3 Ibid. 56-57.
4 McDowell, The New Evidence that Demands a Verdict, 34-36.
5 John Ryland's Gospel of John fragment, John Ryland's Library of Manchester, England. See also, Ibid., 38.
6 McDowell, Evidence that Demands a Verdict, vol.1, 42.
7 F.F. Bruce, The Books and the Parchments: How We Got Our English Bible, Fleming H. Revell Co., 1950, 178.
8 Norman L. Geisler and William E. Nix, A General Introduction to the Bible, Moody, Chicago, Revised and Expanded 1986, 366-67.
9 http://shakespeare.com/faq/, Dana Spradley, Publisher, 2002.
10 McDowell, Evidence that Demands a Verdict, vol. 1, 50-51.
11 Ravi K. Zacharias, Can Man Live Without God? Word Publishing, 1994, 162.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?