化石记录

化石记录

 
当前位置: 旅途 >> 化石记录

化石证据:有“过渡”的生物形式吗?
我们先来再看一些达尔文非常诚实的论述:

    如果物种是从其他物种一点点地逐渐变成的,那末,为什么我们没有到处看到无数的过渡类型呢?为什么物种恰像我们所见到的那样区别分明,而整个自然界不呈混乱状态呢?1

    但是如果按照这一理论,过渡变种必定曾经存在过,为什么地壳中没有埋存无数的过渡变种?2

    最后,如果我们不看某一时代,而是从整个历史来看,如果我的理论正确,无数紧密连接同种之内各物种的中间变种肯定也是存在的。3

    那么为什么不是每个地质构造和每个地层都充满这些中间变种?地质学显然没有展示任何如此精细演变的生物链;而这可能正是能够驳倒我的理论的最明显和重要的一点。4
自从达尔文提出他的最初理论后,科学家们一直在寻求能够表明过去的生物过渡的化石证据。近150年后,在化石记录中仍找不到进化过渡的证据。用达尔文自己的话说:如果他的“宏观进化论”是正确的,我们就能够看到大量的生物发展中间阶段的化石。事实上,基于标准的数学模式,我们应该在化石记录中看到更多的过渡形式而不是完整的标本。然而,我们一个都没见到—我们从没见过一个真正的过渡标本。

现在博物馆里有几亿个化石标本(仅在史密森自然历史博物馆就有4千万)。如果达尔文的理论正确,我们应该至少看到几千万的无可置疑的过渡形式。然而我们一个也没看到。即使是已故的哈佛大学地质学和古生物学教授史蒂芬•杰•古德,这位在最近去世之前一直是倡导进化论的领军人物也承认“化石记录中极其罕见进化生物形式一直是古生物学中的商业秘密。” 5 他还说到:
    大多数化石物种的历史都有两个与渐变论不一致的特征:1. 统计数字。大多数物种都没有显示其生存于世上时的直接变化。它们在化石中的样貌和它们消失时是一样的…2. 瞬间样貌。在任何地方,物种都不是由其祖先逐步稳定过渡而来;看起来物种是瞬间出现而且“发育完全”的。6使我们课本生色的进化树只是在树枝的树梢和节点处有数据;其余的无论多么合理,都只是推断,而不是化石证据。7
稍等。我需要再严密一些!是有一些过渡的化石还是根本没有?如果古德提到化石记录时用的是“极其罕见”和“大多数物种都没有显示直接变化”这样的字眼,那就意味着至少有一些过渡物种。对吧?

下一页!

1 达尔文,《物种起源》,143.
2 同上,144.
3 同上,149.
4 同上, 230.
5 《自然史》86(5),1977年, 14.
6 同上,13.
7 古德, 《进化论的不定行踪》,《自然史》第五卷,1977.


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

化石记录
人类的眼睛
智能设计理论
生命的起源
进化论
脱氧核糖核酸分子(DNA分子)
生命的创造
自然产生论
不能减缩的复杂性
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 化石记录 to My Google!
Add 化石记录 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 化石记录
旅途 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutTheJourney.org, 保留所有权利。

Fossil Record

allaboutthejourney
Fossil Record - Are there "Transitional" Forms?

Let's start by looking at a few more of Darwin's very honest statements:

    Firstly, why, if species have descended from other species by insensibly fine gradations, do we not everywhere see innumerable transitional forms? Why is not all nature in confusion instead of the species being, as we see them, well defined? 1

    But, as by this theory, innumerable transitional forms must have existed, why do we not find them embedded in countless numbers in the crust of the earth? 2

    Lastly, looking not to any one time, but to all time, if my theory be true, numberless intermediate varieties, linking closely together all the species of the same group, must assuredly have existed. 3

    Why then is not every geological formation and every stratum full of such intermediate links? Geology assuredly does not reveal any such finely graduated organic chain; and this, perhaps is the most obvious and gravest objection which can be urged against my theory.
    4
Since Darwin put forth his original theory, scientists have sought fossil evidence indicating past organic transitions. Nearly 150 years later, there has been no evidence of evolutionary transition found thus far in the fossil record. In Darwin's own words, if his theory of "macro-evolution" were true, we would see a vast number of fossils at intermediate stages of biological development. In fact, based on standard mathematical models, we would see far more transitional forms in the fossil record than complete specimens. However, we see none -- not one true transitional specimen has ever been found.

Our museums now contain hundreds of millions of fossil specimens (40 million alone are contained in the Smithsonian Natural History Museum). If Darwin's theory were true, we should see at least tens of millions of unquestionable transitional forms. We see none. Even the late Stephen Jay Gould, Professor of Geology and Paleontology at Harvard University and the leading spokesman for evolutionary theory prior to his recent death, confessed "the extreme rarity of transitional forms in the fossil record persists as the trade secret of paleontology." 5

He continues:

    The history of most fossil species includes two features inconsistent with gradualism: 1. Statis. Most species exhibit no directional change during their tenure on earth. They appear in the fossil record looking much the same as when they disappear… 2. Sudden Appearance. In any local area, a species does not arise gradually by the steady transformation of its ancestors; it appears all at once and 'fully formed'. 6 The evolutionary trees that adorn our textbooks have data only at the tips and nodes of their branches; the rest is inference, however reasonable, not the evidence of fossils. 7
Wait. I need to tighten this down! Are there some transitional fossils, or none? If Gould uses phrases like "extreme rarity" and "most species exhibit no directional change" when referring to the fossil record, that must mean that there are at least some transitional specimens. Right?

Next Page!

Footnotes:
1 Darwin, Origin of Species, 143.
2 Ibid., 144.
3 Ibid., 149.
4 Ibid., 230.
5 Natural History 86(5), 1977, 14.
6 Ibid., 13.
7 Gould, "Evolution's Erratic Pace," Natural History, Vol. 5, 1977.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?