脱氧核糖核酸分子(DNA分子)

脱氧核糖核酸分子(DNA分子)

 
当前位置: 旅途 >> 脱氧核糖核酸分子(DNA分子)

DNA分子:信息的不可能性
DNA分子是有史以来最伟大的科学发现之一。DNA最早在1953年由詹姆斯•沃森与佛朗西斯•克里克描述出来1,它是著名的遗传学的百宝库,它奠定了每种生物体的物质特性。直到2001年年中,“人类基因组计划”和塞雷拉基因组才联合提出了DNA中内在的数字密码的真正本质和复杂性。我们现在知道DNA分子由排列成约30亿个精密序列的化学基础组成。即使是单细胞细菌,大肠杆菌的DNA分子也有足以占据整套《大不列颠百科全书》的信息。

DNA(脱氧核糖核酸)是一种双螺旋分子,象旋转楼梯一样被缠绕成螺旋状。每一个螺旋由一个糖-磷骨架和许多成对的化学基础组成。构成这个旋转楼梯的梯级的四种基础是腺嘌呤(A)、胸腺嘧啶(T)、胞嘧啶(C)和鸟嘌呤(G)。这些梯级就像遗传字母表里的“字母”,以复杂的序列结合形成词、句和段落,而这些词句段落就会指导宿主细胞的形成和功能。也许更恰当的比喻是,DNA分子中的A、T、C、G就等于计算机软件中的二进制编码中的“0”和“1”。正如软件对于计算机的作用一样,DNA密码是一种遗传语言,可以将信息传达给生物细胞。

DNA密码就象一张二进制密码的软盘,其基本配对结构很简单。然而,其密码的序列和功能却极为复杂。通过最近的晶体衍射学等技术,我们现在知道细胞不是“一团原生质”,而是比太空船都要复杂的显微镜下的奇迹。细胞非常复杂,要用大量极为精密的DNA指示来控制每一个功能。

尽管DNA密码极为复杂,阻碍科学的其实是与密码有关的信息转译系统。任何语言的字母和词汇脱离了赋予字词意义的语言传统都毫无意义。这是现代信息理论的核心。举一个二元的信息理论的例子:“午夜骑士保罗•瑞威尔”。在那个著名的故事中,瑞威尔告诉朋友,如果英国人从陆路来的话就在北教堂挂一盏灯,如果从海路来就挂两盏灯。如果保罗•瑞威尔和朋友之间没有共同的语言传统,连这种简单的交流都不可能。好吧,就用这个简单的例子,乘以带几百个零的系数吧。

我们现在知道DNA分子是一种精密的信息系统。要说DNA随机产生就是说信息可以随机发展。很多科学家认为DNA分子的化学基础材料能够用千百万年的自然物质过程来解释。然而,解释信息的物质基础完全不受使用这些材料传递的信息的影响。因此,这些化学基础材料与这种复杂信息本身的来源毫无关系。

简单举个例子:“自然和设计”这个词组中的信息内容与书写材料毫无关系,不论是钢笔、画笔、粉笔还是蜡笔。实际上,这个词组还可以用二进制密码、莫尔斯密码或烟雾信号来书写,但信息都不变,不受其媒介影响。很明显信息和用以传递信息的基础材料是没有关系的。一些当前的理论认为,基本化学物质内部的自组特性创造了最初的DNA分子信息。其它理论则认为外部的自组力量创造了最初的DNA分子信息。然而,所有这些理论都必须坚持一个不合逻辑的结论,即传递信息的物质也制造了信息本身。尽管我不是科学家,可是逻辑告诉我在基因密码中的信息必须完全独立于DNA分子的化学结构。

这种科学说法有道理吗?我是否正确理解了我们最近才开始了解的DNA分子的伟大的复杂性?在我看来任何一个人,如果认真研究DNA分子奇迹都会产生同样的震撼—这个不可思议的、微小的、数字的、纠错的、重复的、自我复制的信息存储和检索系统。它有自己内在的语言传统,有能力用生物原料创造任何生物体。

    想到这点很惊讶:这台非凡的机器,拥有创造地球上所有生物的最高能力,无论是高大的红杉还是人脑,可以在几分钟之内组建自己的部件,而重量不超过10-16克。其序列比人类组建的最小的可以运作的机械要小几亿万倍。2
随着过去几十年DNA分子的发现、作图和排序,我们现在知道有机生命要基于极度复杂的信息密码,而且,就像当前最复杂的软件密码一样,这种信息如果没有某种“智力”是不可能被创造或解释的。对我而言,仅仅真正理解DNA分子的科学现实这一件事就击败了我一生的想法,即生命是通过随机的物质力量产生于无生命。即使过三百万年,从统计学来讲要产生DNA也是不可能的。 不过,我们还是继续发掘吧…如果DNA是细胞发展蓝图的信息百宝箱,这些不同功能的细胞看起来是什么样呢?它们真的那么复杂吗?

下一页!

1 J.D. 沃森和F.H.C. 克里克,《脱氧核糖核酸的结构》,《自然》,171:737 (1953).
2迈克尔•丹顿,《进化论:陷入危机的理论》,阿德勒出版公司, 338.


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

脱氧核糖核酸分子(DNA分子)
生命的奇迹
自然产生论
生命的创造
查尔斯•达尔文
进化论
化石记录的问题
智能设计理论
显微镜下的生物体
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 脱氧核糖核酸分子(DNA分子) to My Google!
Add 脱氧核糖核酸分子(DNA分子) to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 脱氧核糖核酸分子(DNA分子)
旅途 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutTheJourney.org, 保留所有权利。

DNA Molecule

allaboutthejourney
DNA Molecule - the Impossibility of Information

The DNA molecule is one of the greatest scientific discoveries of all time. First described by James Watson and Francis Crick in 19531, DNA is the famous storehouse of genetics that establishes each organism's physical characteristics. It wasn't until mid-2001, that the "Human Genome Project" and Celera Genomics jointly presented the true nature and complexity of the digital code inherent in DNA. We now understand that the DNA molecule is comprised of chemical bases arranged in approximately 3 billion precise sequences. Even the DNA molecule for the single-celled bacterium, E. coli, contains enough information to fill an entire set of Encyclopedia Britannica.

DNA (deoxyribonucleic acid) is a double-stranded molecule that is twisted into a helix like a spiral staircase. Each strand is comprised of a sugar-phosphate backbone and numerous base chemicals attached in pairs. The four bases that make up the stairs in the spiraling staircase are adenine (A), thymine (T), cytosine (C) and guanine (G). These stairs act as the "letters" in the genetic alphabet, combining into complex sequences to form the words, sentences and paragraphs that act as instructions to guide the formation and functioning of the host cell. Maybe even more appropriately, the A, T, C, and G in the genetic code of the DNA molecule can be compared to the "0" and "1" in the binary code of computer software. Like software to a computer, the DNA code is a genetic language that communicates information to the organic cell.

The DNA code, like a floppy disk of binary code, is quite simple in its basic paired structure. However, it's the sequencing and functioning of that code that's enormously complex. Through recent technologies like x-ray crystallography, we now know that the cell is not a "blob of protoplasm", but rather, a microscopic marvel that is more complex than the space shuttle. The cell is very complicated, using vast numbers of phenomenally precise DNA instructions to control its every function.

Although DNA code is remarkably complex, it's the information translation system connected to that code that really baffles science. Like any language, letters and words mean nothing outside the language convention used to give those letters and words meaning. This is modern information theory at its core. A simple binary example of information theory is the "Midnight Ride of Paul Revere." In that famous story, Mr. Revere asks a friend to put one light in the window of the North Church if the British came by land, and two lights if they came by sea. Without a shared language convention between Paul Revere and his friend, that simple communication effort would mean nothing. Well, take that simple example and multiply by a factor containing hundreds of zeros.

We now know that the DNA molecule is an intricate message system. To claim that DNA arose randomly is to say that information can develop randomly. Many scientists argue that the chemical building blocks of the DNA molecule can be explained by natural material processes over millions of years. However, explaining the material base of a message is completely independent of the information transmitted using those materials. Thus, the chemical building blocks have nothing to do with the origin of the complex message itself.

As a simple illustration, the information content of the clause "nature and design" has nothing to do with the writing material used, whether ink, paint, chalk or crayon. In fact, the clause can be written in binary code, Morse code or smoke signals, but the message remains the same, independent of the medium. There is obviously no relationship between the information and the material base used to transmit it. Some current theories argue that self-organizing properties within the base chemicals themselves created the information in the first DNA molecule. Others argue that external self-organizing forces created the first DNA molecule. However, all of these theories must hold to the illogical conclusion that the material used to transmit the information also produced the information itself. Although I'm not a scientist, logic tells me that the information contained within the genetic code must be entirely independent of the chemical makeup of the DNA molecule.

Does this science stuff make sense? Am I correctly interpreting the awesome complexity of the DNA molecule that we only recently started to understand? It seems to me that anyone who goes out and truly investigates the miracle of the DNA molecule -- this incredible micro, digital, error-correcting, redundant, self duplicating, information storage and retrieval system, with its own inherent language convention, that has the potential to develop any organism from raw biological material -- has to be equally awe struck!

    It is astonishing to think that this remarkable piece of machinery, which possesses the ultimate capacity to construct every living thing that ever existed on Earth, from giant redwood to the human brain, can construct all its own components in a matter of minutes and weigh less than 10-16 grams. It is of the order of several thousand million million times smaller than the smallest piece of functional machinery ever constructed by man.2

With the discovery, mapping and sequencing of the DNA molecule over the last few decades, we now understand that organic life is based on vastly complex information code, and, like today's most complex software codes, such information cannot be created or interpreted without some kind of "intelligence." For me, truly understanding the scientific reality of the DNA molecule single-handedly defeated my life-long presupposition that life arose from non-life through random materialistic forces. Even with trillions of years, the development of DNA is statistically impossible.

But, hey, let's dig in further... If DNA is the information storehouse that acts as the blueprint for cellular development, what do these functional cells look like? Are they really all that complex?

Next Page!

Footnotes:
1 J.D. Watson and F.H.C. Crick, "Structure of Deoxyribose Nucleic Acid," Nature, 171:737 (1953).


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?