对基督徒的迫害

对基督徒的迫害

 
当前位置: 旅途 >> 对基督徒的迫害

对基督徒的迫害
基督徒被迫害和处死的证据非常有说服力,所以我想再次考查这个早期基督教历史上非常惊人的部分。任何像我这样的怀疑论者如果认为耶稣基督复活是一群宗教狂人事后制造的传奇故事,都应该看看基督教受迫害和殉教这一宝贵遗产。12位门徒中的11位,以及其他早期信徒,都因为坚持这个故事而死。这太惨烈了,他们都目睹了围绕耶稣和他的复活的种种事情,并且为了捍卫这些事实真相而死。历史上许多人为了宗教信仰而献身,为什么把这次称为惨烈呢?从历史看看人的本性吧。当性命或自由悬于一线时,什么阴谋也不会坚持了。为信仰而死是一回事,但那么多目击者为了一个已知的谎言去死则另当别论。

好,我想我已经说清楚了…

以下是从《圣经》外的其它渠道获得的早期基督徒遭逼迫的叙述,其中最著名的是福克斯的《全球基督殉教者》:1

约公元34年,史蒂芬在耶稣被钉死在十字架上一年后被驱逐出城用乱石砸死。在此期间约有两千名基督徒被害。西庇太的儿子,约翰的哥哥雅各在希律的亚基帕统治犹太地时被杀。亚基帕憎恨犹太教中的基督教派,在他统治期间,许多早期基督徒被害,其中包括提门和巴米拿。约公元54年,来自加利利的伯赛大的信徒腓利,在佛里吉亚的亚文被害。他被鞭打入狱,后来被钉死。大约6年后,用希伯莱文写了一卷福音的拿撒勒税吏马太,在埃提阿伯讲道时被用剑刺死。雅各,耶稣的兄弟,曾主持耶路撒冷的早期教会并撰写了以他名字命名的圣经章节。94岁时被毒打石击,最终脑浆都被铁锤砸出。

马提亚是替代犹大位分的使徒。在耶路撒冷被石击后斩首。安得烈是彼得的兄弟,在全亚洲传播福音,当他到达埃德萨时被逮捕并钉死在十字架上,十字架的两头被横着钉在地上。(因此有“圣安得烈十字架”一称)马可,因彼得而信基督,后来在他写的福音中转录了彼得关于耶稣的叙述。马可被亚历山大城的人在赛拉皮斯,即他们的异教偶像前被拖曳而死。看起来彼得是在罗马被判死刑,钉上十字架的。杰罗姆认为彼得是自己要求被倒着钉死的,因为他认为自己不配和他的主用同样的方式被钉死。保罗在尼禄第一次迫害基督徒时就被害。由于他殉教时令人激昂的坚定信仰,当权者把他带到城外的隐蔽地方刺死。

大约公元72年,犹大,雅各的兄弟,常被称为“圣达太”,在伊第沙被钉死。巴多罗买曾去数个国家传道,并将马太福音译为印度语。他受惨打后被那里的拜偶像的人钉死。多马,原名低土马,曾在帕提亚和印度传道,激怒了当地的异教祭司,被用矛刺死。路加,著有同名福音,他和保罗同去过许多国家,据说在希腊被崇拜偶像的祭司吊死在橄榄树上。塞浦路斯的巴拿巴,死于约公元73年,如何遇害不详。西门,被称为“奋锐党的西门”,曾在毛里塔尼亚、非洲、甚至英国传道,约公元74年在英国被钉死。彼得,“基督所爱的门徒”,是雅各的兄弟。他奉命从以弗所到罗马,经证实他在罗马曾被投入沸腾的油锅中,却奇迹般逃脱,并没有受伤。后来豆米仙把他流放到拔摩海岛,在那里他写了《启示录》。他是唯一一个逃脱惨死的门徒。

对基督徒的逼迫在基督之后最初几个世纪并没有减弱基督教的成长。即使早期的领导人惨遭杀害,基督教在整个罗马帝国还是繁盛起来。像这样殉教的史实记录怎么能不被看作基督信仰的绝对真理的证据呢?基督信仰不同于其它信仰,它是建立在历史事件和耳闻目睹的见证基础上的。

现在继续读!

1 约翰•福克斯,《全球基督殉教者》,格林顿•贝瑞编辑,弗莱明H.雷维尔公司重印,1998年.


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


耶稣是谁?

自圆其说的预言
弥赛亚预言
小普林尼
苏埃托尼乌斯
什么是《死海古卷》
对基督徒的迫害
复活的证据
耶稣是神吗?
耶稣所行神迹
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 对基督徒的迫害 to My Google!
Add 对基督徒的迫害 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 对基督徒的迫害
旅途 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutTheJourney.org, 保留所有权利。

Christian Persecution

Christian Persecution

Since this is so powerful for me, I want to reexamine the Christian persecution and death that was such a dramatic part of early Christian history. Like me, any skeptic who holds to a notion that the resurrection of Jesus Christ was a man-made legend created after-the-fact by a group of religious zealots, should sincerely check out the legacy of Christian persecution and martyrdom. Eleven of the 12 apostles, and many of the other early disciples, died for their adherence to this story. This is so spectacular, since they all witnessed the alleged events surrounding Jesus and his resurrection, and still went to their deaths defending them. Why is this spectacular, when many throughout history have died martyred deaths for a religious belief? Because people don't die for a lie. Look at human nature throughout history. No conspiracy can be maintained when life or liberty is at stake. Dying for a belief is one thing, but numerous eye-witnesses dying for a known lie is quite another.

OK, I guess I've made my point...

Here's an account of early Christian persecution, as compiled from numerous sources outside the Bible, the most-famous of which is Foxes' Christian Martyrs of the World:1

Around 34 A.D., one year after the crucifixion of Jesus, Stephen was thrown out of Jerusalem and stoned to death. "On that day a great persecution broke out against the church at Jerusalem, and all except the apostles were scattered throughout Judea and Samaria" (Acts 8:1). About 10 years later, James, the son of Zebedee and the elder brother of John, was killed when Herod Agrippa arrived as governor of Judea. Agrippa detested the Christian sect of Jews, and many early disciples were martyred under his rule, including Timon and Parmenas. Around 54 A.D., Philip, a disciple from Bethsaida, in Galilee, suffered martyrdom at Heliopolis, in Phrygia. He was scourged, thrown into prison, and afterwards crucified. About six years later, Matthew, the tax-collector from Nazareth who wrote one of the Gospels, was preaching in Ethiopia when he suffered martyrdom by the sword. James, the brother of Jesus, administered the early church in Jerusalem and was the author of a biblical text by his name. At age 94, he was beat and stoned, and finally had his brains bashed out with a fuller's club.

Matthias was the apostle who filled the vacant place of Judas. He was stoned at Jerusalem and then beheaded. Andrew was the brother of Peter who preached throughout Asia. On his arrival at Edessa, he was arrested and crucified on a cross, the two ends of which were fixed transversely in the ground (this is where we get the term, St. Andrew's Cross). Mark was converted to Christianity by Peter, and then transcribed Peter's account of Jesus in his Gospel. Mark was dragged to pieces by the people of Alexandria in front of Serapis, their pagan idol. It appears Peter was condemned to death and crucified at Rome. Jerome holds that Peter was crucified upside down, at his own request, because he said he was unworthy to be crucified in the same manner as his Lord. Paul suffered in the first persecution under Nero. Paul's faith was so dramatic in the face of martyrdom, that the authorities removed him to a private place for execution by the sword.

In about 72 A.D., Jude, the brother of James who was commonly called Thaddeus, was crucified at Edessa. Bartholomew preached in several countries and translated the Gospel of Matthew into the language of India. He was cruelly beaten and then crucified by idolaters there. Thomas, called Didymus, preached in Parthia and India, where he was thrust through with a spear by a group of pagan priests. Luke was the author of the Gospel under his name. He traveled with Paul through various countries and is supposed to have been hanged on an olive tree by idolatrous priests in Greece. Barnabas, of Cyprus, was killed without many known facts in about 73 A.D. Simon, surnamed Zelotes, preached in Mauritania, Africa, and even in Britain, where he was crucified in about 74 A.D. John, the "beloved disciple," was the brother of James. From Ephesus he was ordered to Rome, where he was cast into a cauldron of boiling oil. He escaped by miracle, without injury. Domitian afterwards banished him to the Isle of Patmos, where John wrote the last book of the Bible, Revelation. He was the only apostle who escaped a violent death.

Christian persecution didn't slow the growth of the Christian faith during the first few centuries after Jesus. Even as its early leaders died horrible deaths, Christianity flourished throughout the Roman Empire. How can this historical record of martyrdom be viewed as anything but powerful evidence for the truth of the Christian faith - a faith grounded in historical events and eye-witness testimonies?

Keep Reading Now!

1 John Foxe, Foxe's Book of Martyrs, Ed. by W. Grinton Berry, Reprinted by Fleming H. Revell, 1998.

Facebook   YouTube   Twitter   Google+   RSS Feed